BSA Sectional Officers

(* = BSA Council Members)


Bryological And Lichenological Section

Chair and ABLS President (2016):

*Larry  St. Clair
M. L. Bean Museum
Brigham Young University
2103C  MLBM
 Provo, UT 84602
(801) 422-6211
Email: Larry_StClair@byu.edu

Program Director - ABLS President-elect (2016):

Catherine La Farge
University of Alberta
Email: clafarge@ualberta.ca

Treasurer - ABLS Treasurer:

Scott Schuette
Pennsylvania Natural Heritage Program
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222, USA
swschuette@gmail.com

Secretary - ABLS Secretary:

Susan Will-Wolf
Department of Botany
University of Wisconsin-Madison
swwolf@wisc.edu


Developmental And Structural Section

Chair (2019):

*Jocelyn Hall
University of Alberta
E-Mail: jocelyn.hall@ualberta.ca

Program Director (2018):

Verónica Di Stilio
University of Washington
E-Mail: distilio@uw.edu

Treasurer (2017):

Nicholas Tippery
University of Wisconsin - Whitewater
E-Mail: tipperyn@uww.edu

Ecology Section

Chair (2016):

Eric Morgan
ecmorgan3@yahoo.com

Vice-Chair (2018):

Brenda Molano-Flores
Department of Plant Biology
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Champaign, IL 61820-5711
(217) 265-8165
molano@inhs.uiuc.edu

Secretary & Program Director (2016):

Tracy Hawkins
USDA-Forest Service
Center for Bottomland Hardwoods Research
100 Stone Blvd.
Thompson Hall, Mississippi State
Starkville, MS 39762
662-325-2145
tracyhawkins@fs.fed.us

Economic Botany Section

Chair & Program Director (2017):

*Rachel Meyer
E-Mail: rm181@nyu.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2016):

Nanci Ross
Department of Biology
Drake University
Des Moines, Iowa
E-Mail: nanci.ross@drake.edu

Genetics Section

Chair and Program Director (2018):

Ingrid Jordon-Thaden
University & Jepson Herbaria
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
(352) 273-1976
E-MAIL: ijordonthaden@berkeley.edu

Vice-Chair and Scholarship & Awards Director (2017):

William Hughes
Carleton University (Canada)
E-MAIL: WilliamHughes@cmail.carleton.ca

Secretary-Treasurer (2016)

Jeremy Coate
Reed College
Portland, OR 97206
(971) 295-8785
E-MAIL: jcoate@reed.edu

Historical Section

Chair & Program Director (2018)

*Nuala Caomhanach
Conservation Biology Educator, American Museum of Natural History
Adjunct Professor, New York University
Email: nuala.caomhanach@gmail.com

Secretary-Treasurer (2017)

Maura C. Flannery
Professor of Biology
Director, Center for Teaching and Learning
St. John's University
Jamaica, NY 11439
Email: flannerm@stjohns.edu

Student Representative (2014):

Nuala Caomhanach
E-Mail: nuala.caomhanach@gmail.com

Mycological Section

Chair (2015) :

*Greg Mueller
Chicago Botanic Garden
Glencoe, IL 60022
E-Mail: gmueller@chicagobotanic.org

Paleobotanical Section

Chair (2017):

Dr. Fabiany Herrera
Chicago Botanic Garden
1000 Lake Cook Road
Glencoe, IL 60022
fherrera@chicagobotanic.org

Secretary-Treasurer & Program Director (2017):

Wilson Taylor
Department of Biology
University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Eau Claire, WI 54702-4004
(715) 836-3176
E-Mail: taylorwa@uwec.edu

Web Manager:

Shusheng Hu

Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2016):

M. Alejandra Gandolfo
LH Bailey Hortorium
Plant Biology Section
School of Integrative Plant Science
Cornell University
Ithaca- NY 14853 USA
mag4@cornell.edu

Phycological Section

In Recess


Physiological Section

Chair (2015):

*Jorge López-Portillo
Red de Ecología Funcional
Instituto de Ecología, A. C. (INECOL)
Xalapa 91070 Veracruz, México
E-Mail: jorge.lopez.portillo@inecol.mx

Program Director (2017):

Arthur Schwarz
Southwestern Adventist University
Keene, TX 76059
E-mail: schwarz.arthur@swau.edu

Treasurer (2016):

*Anitra Thorhaug
Yale University
School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
370 Prospect Ave.
New Haven, CT 06511
E-Mail: thorhaug@msn.com

Program Co-Director (2014):

Brandon Pratt
CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY BAKERSFIELD
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1099
E-mail: rpratt@csub.edu

Phytochemical Section

In Recess


Pteridological Section

Chair (2014):

*Kathleen M. Pryer
Duke University
E-mail: pryer@duke.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2014):

David Barrington
Department of Plant Biology
University of Vermont
Burlington, VT  05405
(802) 656-0431, 656-3221
David.Barrington@uvm.edu

Program Director (2013):

Eddie Watkins
Department of Biology
129 Ho Science Center 
Colgate University
Hamilton, NY 13346
(315) 228-7660
jwatkins@colgate.edu

Systematics Section

Chair (2016):

*Jerrold Davis
Cornell Universoty
Ithaca, NY 14850
E-Mail: jid1@cornell.edu

Secretary-Treasurer-Program Director (2016):

Harvey Ballard
315 Porter Hall
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701-2979
(740) 593-4659
Email: ballardh@ohio.edu

Teaching Section

Chair (2018):

*Madhav Nepal
South Dakota State University
Biology and Microbiology
Northern Plain Biostress Laboratory
Brookings, SD 57007
(605) 688-5971
E-mail: Madhav.Nepal@sdstate.edu

Immediate Past Chair (2018):

Carina Anttila-Suare
San Jose City College
2100 Moorpark Ave
San Jose, CA 95128
(415) 338-6487
E-mail: anttilasuarezc@smccd.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2016):

Kyra Neipp Krakos
Maryville University,
St Louis, MO 63141
E-mail: knkrakos@gmail.com

Secretary/Treasurer (2018):

A. Bruce Cahoon
Associate Professor of Biology
Middle Tennessee State
Department of Biology, Box 60
Murfreesboro, TN 37132
(615) 494-8792
E-mail: acahoon@mtsu.edu

Tropical Biology Section

Chair (2017):

Margaret S. Devall, Ecologist
Center for Bottomland Hardwoods Research
P.O. Box 227
Stoneville, MS 38776
E-mail: mdevall@fs.fed.us

Secretary-Treasurer (2016):

SUZANNE KOPTUR
Department of Biological Sciences
Florida International University
Miami, FL 33199
(305) 348-3103
E-mail: kopturs@fiu.edu

Northeastern Section

Chairman (2012):

*Mary J. Paoli
1839 Carson Valley Road
Duncansville, PA 16635
814-695-5390
mpaoli@pennswoods.net

Southeastern Section

Chairman (2018):

*Chris Havran 
Campbell University
Buies Creek, NC 27506
havran@campbell.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2018):

Emily Gillespie 
Marshall University
Huntington, WV 25755
gillespiee@marshall.edu

Activities Chair (2018):

Lytton Musselman 
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, VA 23529
lmusselm@odu.edu