Botanical Society of America Ecological Section Annual Report June 16, 2017

The 2017 business meeting for the Ecological Section was convened at 5:00 pm on June 26, 2017 with approximately 20 section members in attendance. A summary of the BSA Council meeting was conveyed to the membership and the sectional budget was presented. There was brief discussion of the anticipated changes for AJB. The winners of the student poster and presentation awards were announced, and the judges were thanked. The Ecology Section Student Presentation Awards were awarded to Nicholas Flanders (Graduate Student), Old Dominion University, for the paper "The Role of Generalist Avian Frugivores in Determining the Distribution of the Mistletoe Phoradendron leucarpum" Co-authors: Eric Walters, Christopher P. Randle and Lytton Musselman and Michelle Gaynor (Undergraduate Student), University of Central Florida, for the paper "The Influence of Genome Duplication on Brassicaceae and Rosaceae Communities Across the United States" Co-authors: Julienne Ng and Robert Laport. The Ecology Section Undergraduate Student Poster Awards were awarded to Melissa Vergara, University of California at Santa Cruz, for the poster "Do herbivores prefer flower buds over leaves? Evaluating caterpillar preferences in evening primroses (Onagraceae)" Co-authors: Krissa Skogen, Tania Jogesh and Kathleen Kay Nic Diaz, Bucknell University, for the poster "Examining niche divergence of cryptic species within the Hawaiian Coprosma foliosa Complex (Rubiaceae)" Co-authors: Jason Cantley and Christopher Martine. There was no remaining old business to discuss and no new business was brought forward. A motion was made for adjournment and the meeting was concluded.

This concludes my service as Chair of the Ecological Section in which I was asked to finish the term of the previous Chair. I want to thank my Vice-Chair, Brenda Molano-Flores, and Secretary, Tracy Hawkins, for their assistance in the rapid and unexpected transition. At the 2018 section meeting there will be elections for all section officers. Brenda Molano-Flores will be organizing and conducting the election in my absence this year.

Respectfully submitted,

J. Phil Gibson Chair, BSA Ecological Section