Current Officers of the Botanical Society of America

Board of Directors

Cynthia Jones, President   Linda Watson, BSA President Elect   Michael Donoghue, President Elect
PRESIDENT*
Cynthia Jones (2019-2022)
Professor & Director
EEB Biodiversity Education
and Research Greenhouses
University of Connecticut
cynthia.s.jones@uconn.edu
  PAST PRESIDENT*
Linda Watson (2018-2021)
Department of Plant Biology, Ecology and Evolution
Oklahoma State University
linda.watson10@okstate.edu
  PRESIDENT ELECT*
Dr. Michael Donoghue (2020-2023)
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Yale University
michael.donoghue@yale.edu


         
Rachel Spicer, BSA Secretary   Lucinda McDade, BSA Treasurer   Melanie Link-Perez, Program Director
SECRETARY*
Rachel Spicer (2018-2021)
Associate Professor of Botany
Connecticut College
rspicer@conncoll.edu
  TREASURER*
Lucinda McDade (2016-2022)
Executive Director
Judith B. Friend Director of Research
Rancho Santa Ana Botanic Garden
(and Professor of Botany,
Claremont Graduate University)
lmcdade@rsabg.org
 

PROGRAM DIRECTOR*
Dr. Melanie Link-Perez (2020-2023)
Biological Sciences
Eastern Kentucky University
melanie.link-perez@eku.edu

         
Jennifer Cruse-Sanders   Chris Martine, At-large Director - Education   Emily Sessa, Director at Large for Publications
Director at Large for Development
Jennifer Cruse-Sanders (2020-2023)
State Botanical Garden of Georgia
University of Georgia
crusesanders@uga.edu
  Director at Large for Education
Chris Martine (2018-2021)
Professor of Biology
Bucknell University
chris.martine@bucknell.edu
  Director at Large for Publications
Emily Sessa (2019-2022)
University of Florida
emilysessa@ufl.edu
         
Chelsea Spect, Director at Large for DEI   Michelle Gaynor, Student Representative   Imena Valdes, Student Representative
Director at Large for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Chelsea Specht (2020-2023)
Plant and Microbial Biology
University of California, Berkeley
cdspecht@cornell.edu
  STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Michelle Gaynor (2019-2021)
University of Florida
michellegaynor@ufl.edu
  STUDENT REPRESENTATIVE
Imena Valdes (2020-2022)
Northwestern University
imenavaldes2020@u.northwestern.edu
         
       
  EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Heather Cacanindin
Botanical Society of America
Ph. 314-577-9566 Fax 314-558-9184
hcacanindin@botany.org
   

Publications Officers

Pamela Diggle, BSA President   Mackenzie Taylor, Editor PSB  
EDITOR IN CHIEF
AMERICAN JOURNAL OF BOTANY
Pamela Diggle (2015-2025)
University of Connecticut
Storrs, CT 06269
pamela.diggle@uconn.edu
  EDITOR
PLANT SCIENCE BULLETIN
Mackenzie Taylor (2015-2025)
Assistant Professor
Plant Reproductive Biology and Development
Clare Boothe Luce Chair for
Women in Science
Department of Biology
Creighton University
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178-0103
Office: Hixson-Lied 424
Lab: Rigge Science 505
Ph. 402-280-2157
MackenzieTaylor@creighton.edu
 
EDITOR IN CHIEF
APPLICATIONS IN PLANT SCIENCES
Theresa Culley
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0006  USA
Ph. 513-556-9705
theresa.culley@uc.edu
         

* indicates a member of the BSA Board of Directors Executive Committee

Sectional Representatives

The Council also consists of representatives from each of the following 19 sections:

Past BSA Officers