BSA Sectional Officers

(* = BSA Council Members)


Bryological And Lichenological Section

Chair and ABLS President (2018):

*Catherine LaFarge
University of Alberta
Email: clafarge@ualberta.ca

Program Director - ABLS President-elect (2018):

Douglas Ladd
The Nature Conservancy
Email: dladd@tnc.org

Treasurer - ABLS Treasurer:

Steven Leavitt
Brigham Young University
Email: steve_leavitt@byu.edu

Secretary - ABLS Secretary:

Susan Will-Wolf
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: swwolf@wisc.edu

Developmental And Structural Section

Chair (2022):

Jessica Budke
University of Tennessee - Knoxville
Email: jbudke@utk.edu

Program Director (2021):

Lena Hileman
Kansas University
Email: lhileman@ku.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2022):

Andrew Doust
Oklahoma State University
Email: andrew.doust@okstate.edu

Ecology Section

Chair (2021):

Brenda Molano-Flores
University of Illinois / Illinois Natural History Survey
Email: molano1@illinois.edu

Vice-Chair (2021):

Uromi Manage Goodale
Guangxi University

Secretary & Program Director (2021):

Cynthia Huebner
USDA Forest Service

Economic Botany Section

Chair (2020):

Laura Klein, Ph.D.
Saint Louis University
Email: laura.klein@slu.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2020):

Emily Warschefsky
Florida International University
Email: ewars001@fiu.edu

Genetics Section

Chair (2020):

Ingrid Jordon-Thaden
University of California, Berkeley
Email: ijordonthaden@berkeley.edu

Program Chair (2020):

Jeremy Coate
Reed College
Email: jcoate@reed.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2020)

Clayton Visger
Email: clayton.visger@csus.edu

Awards Officer (2020)

Donavon Bailey
Email: dbailey@nmsu.edu

Historical Section

Chair & Program Director (2018)

*Nuala Caomhanach
American Museum of Natural History
New York University
Email: nuala.caomhanach@gmail.com

Secretary-Treasurer (2017)

Vacant

Student Representative (2014):

Vacant


Mycological Section

Chair (2015) :

*Greg Mueller
Chicago Botanic Garden
Email: gmueller@chicagobotanic.org

Paleobotanical Section

Chair (2020):

Nathan Jud
William Jewell College, Liberty, MO 
Email: judn@william.jewell.edu

Secretary-Treasurer & Program Director (2020):

Andrew Leslie
Brown University
Email: andrew_leslie@brown.edu

Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2016):

M. Alejandra Gandolfo
Cornell University
Email: mag4@cornell.edu

Web Manager:

Vacant

Phycological Section

In Recess


Physiological Section

Chair (2020):

Arthur Schwarz
Southwestern Adventist University
Email: schwarz.arthur@swau.edu

Program Director (2021):

Anna Jacobson
California State University, Baskersfield
Email: ajacobsen@csub.edu

Treasurer (2022):

*Anitra Thorhaug
Yale University
Email: thorhaug@msn.com


Pteridological Section

Chair (2021):

Alejandra Vasco
Botanical Research Institute of Texas
Email: avasco@brit.org

Secretary-Treasurer (2021):

David Barrington
University of Vermont
Email: David.Barrington@uvm.edu

Systematics Section

Chair (2021):

Anna Monfils
Central Michigan University
Email: monfi1ak@cmich.edu

Secretary-Treasurer-Program Director (2019):

Harvey Ballard
Ohio University
Email: ballardh@ohio.edu

Teaching Section

Chair (2021):

Immediate Past Chair (2021):

Madhav Nepal
South Dakota State University
Email: Madhav.Nepal@sdstate.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2021):

Benjamin Montgomery
University of South Carolina Upstate
Email: bmontgomery@uscupstate.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2019):

Phil Gibson
Email: jpgibson@ou.edu

Tropical Biology Section

Chair (2018):

Margaret S. Devall, Ecologist
Email: mdevall@fs.fed.us

Vice-Chair: (2018)

Travis Marsico
Arkansas State University
Email: tmarsico@astate.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2018):

Suzanne Koptur
Florida International University
Email: kopturs@fiu.edu

Northeastern Section

Chairman (2018):

*Larry Klotz
Email: lhklot@ship.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2019):

Bonnie Isaac
Email: isaacb@carnegiemnh.org

Southeastern Section

Chairman (2021):

Jeremy D. Rentsch
Francis Marion University
Email: Jrentsch@fmarion.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2021):

Matt Estep
Appalachian State University
Email: Estepmc@appstate.edu

Activities Chair (2021):

John J. Schenk
Georgia Southern University
Email: jschenk@georgiasouthern.edu