BSA Sectional Officers

(* = BSA Council Members)


Bryological And Lichenological Section

Chair and ABLS President (2018):

*Catherine LaFarge
University of Alberta
Cryptogamic Herbarium
780-492-7567
Email: clafarge@ualberta.ca

Program Director - ABLS President-elect (2018):

Douglas Ladd
The Nature Conservancy
PO Box 440400
Saint Louis, MO, 63144, USA
Phone: 1-919-791-4279
Email: dladd@tnc.org

Treasurer - ABLS Treasurer:

Steven Leavitt
Biology, 4143 LSB
Brigham Young University
Provo, UT, 84602, USA
Phone: 1-801-422-4879
Email: steve_leavitt@byu.edu

Secretary - ABLS Secretary:

Susan Will-Wolf
Department of Botany
University of Wisconsin-Madison
swwolf@wisc.edu


Developmental And Structural Section

Chair (2019):

*Jocelyn Hall
University of Alberta
E-Mail: jocelyn.hall@ualberta.ca

Program Director (2018):

Verónica Di Stilio
University of Washington
E-Mail: distilio@uw.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2020):

Ranessa Cooper
Hillsdale College
E-Mail: rcooper@hillsdale.edu


Ecology Section

Chair (2021):

Brenda Molano-Flores
University of Illinois / Illinois Natural History Survey
molano1@illinois.edu

Vice-Chair (2021):

Uromi Manage Goodale
Guangxi University

Secretary & Program Director (2018):

Cynthia Huebner
USDA Forest Service


Economic Botany Section

Chair (2019):

Laura Klein, Ph.D.
E-Mail: laura.klein@slu.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2020):

Emily Warschefsky
Florida International University
E-Mail: ewars001@fiu.edu


Genetics Section

Chair and Program Director (2018):

Ingrid Jordon-Thaden
University & Jepson Herbaria
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
(352) 273-1976
E-MAIL: ijordonthaden@berkeley.edu

Vice-Chair and Scholarship & Awards Director (2017):

William Hughes
Carleton University (Canada)
E-MAIL: WilliamHughes@cmail.carleton.ca

Secretary-Treasurer (2016)

Jeremy Coate
Reed College
Portland, OR 97206
(971) 295-8785
E-MAIL: jcoate@reed.edu

Historical Section

Chair & Program Director (2018)

*Nuala Caomhanach
Conservation Biology Educator, American Museum of Natural History
Adjunct Professor, New York University
Email: nuala.caomhanach@gmail.com

Secretary-Treasurer (2017)

Vacant

Student Representative (2014):

Vacant
E-Mail:


Mycological Section

Chair (2015) :

*Greg Mueller
Chicago Botanic Garden
Glencoe, IL 60022
E-Mail: gmueller@chicagobotanic.org

Paleobotanical Section

Chair (2018):

Dr. Fabiany Herrera
Chicago Botanic Garden
1000 Lake Cook Road
Glencoe, IL 60022
fherrera@chicagobotanic.org

Secretary-Treasurer & Program Director (2020):

Andrew Leslie
Brown University
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Box G-W
80 Waterman Street
Providence, <abbr class="region" title="Rhode Island">RI 02912
(401)863-2100
E-Mail: andrew_leslie@brown.edu

Web Manager:

Vacant

Editor, Bibliography of American Paleobotany (2016):

M. Alejandra Gandolfo
LH Bailey Hortorium
Plant Biology Section
School of Integrative Plant Science
Cornell University
Ithaca- NY 14853 USA
mag4@cornell.edu

Phycological Section

In Recess


Physiological Section

Chair (2018):

*Jorge López-Portillo
Red de Ecología Funcional
Instituto de Ecología, A. C. (INECOL)
Xalapa 91070 Veracruz, México
E-Mail: jorge.lopez.portillo@inecol.mx

Program Director (2018):

Arthur Schwarz
Southwestern Adventist University
Keene, TX 76059
E-mail: schwarz.arthur@swau.edu

Treasurer (2019):

*Anitra Thorhaug
Yale University
School of Forestry and Environmental Studies
370 Prospect Ave.
New Haven, CT 06511
E-Mail: thorhaug@msn.com

Program Co-Director (2014):

J. Ryan Stewart
BRIGHAM YOUNG UNIVERSITY
E-mail: rstewart@byu.edu


Phytochemical Section

In Recess


Pteridological Section

Chair (2019):

Melanie Link-Perez
E-mail: melanie.link-perez@oregonstate.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2018):

David Barrington
Department of Plant Biology
University of Vermont
Burlington, VT  05405
(802) 656-0431, 656-3221
David.Barrington@uvm.edu

Program Director (2017):

George Yatskievych

george.yatskievych@austin.utexas.edu

Systematics Section

Chair (2021):

Anna Monfils
Central Michigan University
E-Mail: monfi1ak@cmich.edu

Secretary-Treasurer-Program Director (2019):

Harvey Ballard
Ohio University
Email: ballardh@ohio.edu


Teaching Section

Chair (2021):

Immediate Past Chair (2021):

Madhav Nepal
South Dakota State University
E-mail: Madhav.Nepal@sdstate.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2021):

Benjamin Montgomery
University of South Carolina Upstate
E-mail: BMONTGOMERY@USCUPSTATE.EDU

Secretary/Treasurer (2019):

Phil Gibson
Richards Hall 406, Norman, OK 73019
E-mail: jpgibson@ou.edu

Tropical Biology Section

Chair (2018):

Margaret S. Devall, Ecologist
P.O. Box 227
Stoneville, MS 38776
E-mail: mdevall@fs.fed.us

Vice-Chair: (2018)

Travis Marsico
Arkansas State University
E-mail: tmarsico@astate.edu

Secretary-Treasurer (2018):

SUZANNE KOPTUR
Department of Biological Sciences
Florida International University
Miami, FL 33199
(305) 348-3103
E-mail: kopturs@fiu.edu

Northeastern Section

Chairman (2018):

*Larry Klotz
LHKLOT@ship.edu

Vice Chair & Program Director (2019):

Bonnie Isaac
E-mail: isaacb@carnegiemnh.org

Southeastern Section

Chairman (2018):

*Chris Havran 
Campbell University
Buies Creek, NC 27506
havran@campbell.edu

Secretary/Treasurer (2021):

Jeremy Rentsch
Francis Marion University
jdrentsch@gmail.com

Activities Chair (2021):

John Schenk
Georgia Southern University
jschenk@georgiasouthern.edu